Phone: (641) 484-4678 Toll Free: 1-800-944-9503 Fax: (641) 484-5424


Election Information

“Tribal Sovereignty… the ability to govern ourselves without interference from outside sources.”

Because our ancestors had the tenacity and foresight to purchase land, the Meskwaki Settlement is not an Indian Reservation but private purchased property – a Sovereign Nation.  Our land is held in common by all Tribal members.

The Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in Iowa is the only federally recognized Indian tribe in Iowa. We have our own constitution, codified laws, 13 full-time police officers and a fully functioning court system.  We are governed by a seven member Tribal Council.

Eligible Tribal members have voting rights and may petition and/or cast votes for Tribal Council member seats (staggered terms), vacancies, council actions, meetings, constitutional changes, provisions, ratifications, etc., as necessary.  Please see the Tribal Constitution for specific details.

As various votes/elections are called and/or deemed necessary, Tribal members can find specific information about them in the member’s only section of this website under “Elections” along with paper postings in the official posting places around the Settlement, by mail, and by contacting any *Election committee member, the Executive Director and/or any Tribal Council member.

Election Committee
Chairperson Christina Blackcloud
Vice Chairperson Avis Bear-Bass
Member Becky Youngbear
Member Ferol Ward
Member Anneka Davenport
Member Marjorie Buffalo
Alternate Kendra Walker
Alternate Allison Stewart


Print Friendly, PDF & Email